Which ingredients might be halal or not halal. Halal Checker is an application for Muslims to help them find halal food and avoid eating food that might not be halal. In Halal Checker, an ingredient can either be marked as 'halal' or 'not halal'. 'Halal' should be interpreted as 'The origin of this ingredient is probably halal' and 'not halal' should be interpreted as 'There is a probability that the origin of this ingredient is not halal'. Authors of this software disclaim that they are an authority in giving of fatwa’s, so this characterization is not based on any fatwa, but is based on personal research of scientific resources and other resources on the World Wide Web. For the assurance of an ingredient being 'halal' or 'not halal', you need to consult the manufacturer of that ingredient.